Username:
Password:
Log me on automatically each visit

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:09 am
Post a new topic Post a reply  [ 1 post ]   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:29 pm 
Site Admin

My take on conformation and bloodlines are that they really mean very little in the world of pure racing. As a trainer, I never paid terribly much concern over conformation or pedigree, once I got that horse in my shedrow. I have seen so many poorly put-together, ill-bred race horses defy common sense and been good honest race performers that one soon learns that a pretty horse really means little on the dirt or turf. I have seen scores of perfectly aligned horses with high auction prices that could not outrun a turtle or stay sound. I suppose there are so many complex facets to what makes a successful race horse that conformation and pedigree is never a really good "marker". One must be able to look inside of a horse and see his "heart" and I don't mean his real heart, but his being and the efficiency of his metabolism.